Deep Calls to Deep

361cc24f56827339c576605f4a494e17

‘Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.’– Genesis 1 v 2

The sense of suspense in Genesis 1 v 2 is great, with the potential for transformation seemingly brimming over. God is about to do something wonderful with what lays formless and empty. The Almighty is hovering over the deep waters, brooding, contemplating what He will create.

Life is waiting to come forth.

‘…As waters break out, the Lord has broken out against my enemies before me.’– 2 Samuel 5 v 20

Our God is on our side, He will fight the battles that need to be fought in our lives. The battle has never really been between good (God) and evil, but between evil and humanity. The battle is for our allegiance….and our hearts. Our only option to win the battle is to cling to God our rock, as the waters break out and all hell tries to break loose.

‘He reached down on high and took hold of me; He drew me out of deep waters.’– 2 Samuel 22 v 17

This has been a repeated experience throughout my life. God has reached down and taken hold of me in whatever unfortunate consequence or circumstance I find myself in (yet again) and has drawn me out. He is faithful, even when I am not. Our deep waters are but a paddling pool to our God.

‘He marks out the horizon on the face of the waters, for a boundary between light and darkness.’– Job 26 v 10

God decides what is light and what is darkness, He alone knows truth from fiction and life from death. He is light, and in Him is no darkness at all. When we look at Jesus we see light, anything else is darkness. His word is our guide to discerning light from darkness. If we are ignorant of His word, how can we discern the difference?

Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise my soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Saviour

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

-Hillsong United, ‘Zion’.

2 thoughts on “Deep Calls to Deep

Leave a Reply

