God’s Got My Blueprint

rolled-up-blueprints

 

‘For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do’– Ephesians 2 v 10

When I read these words I breathe a sigh of relief. I don’t have to plan my own good works (which can be overwhelming when I see the great needs in the world). God has planned in advance, and He has a tight reassuring grip on the blueprint.

There is comfort in knowing the blueprint of my life is in the right hands, in knowing that my job is not to run around creating good works but to discover them. After all, the government is on His shoulders.

God is a God of detail and specifics; He doesn’t fudge on clarity or circumnavigate the main issues.

He will readily share with me the details of my blueprint if I seek Him and look out for signs of it. He has promised I will find Him when I seek Him with all of my heart (Jeremiah 29 v 13), and aside from reading scripture and prayer, I am certain that ‘seeking Him’ manifests differently in each of our lives.

I love that aspect of God’s nature.

When I pray about my blueprint I can pray specifically, confidently waiting on God to show me a specific part of the blueprint in return.

I’m glad He took the time to plan my life’s good works in advance. To skilfully prepare how the works would come about, in which time and in which season.

Every detail planned out meticulously and lovingly- what a relief.

The passage in Ephesians suggests that we are God’s work of art, His handiwork that He wants to showcase to others. I believe good works are a way that He shows us off to the world. Believers in Jesus Christ should be renowned for good works; good works with a supernatural edge.

We were created in Christ Jesus to do good works, like our Father who created and declared that it was good (Genesis 1), like His son Jesus who went about doing good and healing (Acts 10 v 38).

We are created for good works; therefore we are anointed for good works. Good works are not always easy to accomplish well, they take time, effort and sacrifice but with the anointing we are more than able to do them. It’s the anointing that destroys the yoke.

Not by might. Not by power. But by His Spirit do we fulfil the good works.

“It is hard to see how a great man can be an atheist. Without the sustaining influence of faith in a divine power we could have little faith in ourselves. We need to feel that behind us is intelligence and love. Doubters do not achieve; sceptics do not contribute; cynics do not create. Faith is the great motive power, and no man realises his full possibilities unless he has the deep conviction that life is eternally important, and that his work, well done, is a part of an unending plan.”
― Calvin Coolidge

Have you asked God about His blueprint for your life?

Leave a Reply

