What I Really Need

9cb86715928d10e81018edfc0a835315

‘If in doubt- worship.’– Bill Johnson

I could tell you the exact details of what I was experiencing, feeling and thinking about when I hear certain songs. I think we all could. Such is the power of music.

But worship and praise music is different. The best ones have been written in earnest by believers with a purpose in mind. Birthed through prayer, with instruments played out of an awareness of the gift of God bestowed, and with a heart crying out for the living God. This is the stuff of real worship music.

The powerful authenticity of worshipping God in Spirit and in Truth.

I think most of our real needs go unmet. Not because God hasn’t moved in our lives or because we have missed something. But because what we really need is to steal away, focus our hearts and minds…and just worship.

We don’t need God to do anything but show up and be His wonderful self.

We don’t need to find the right words, we can let the lyrics and melody wash over us. The lyrics are so important in these moments; we need the focus to move from us to God, from earth to heaven, from our flesh to His Spirit.

In that posture of worship all worries of incompleteness fade away, they pale in comparison. We remember again that we are complete in Him; that He is the head over every power and authority (Colossians 2 v 10). Our faith is reinforced as we ponder His glory, renewing our mind with the knowledge that our momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all (2 Corinthians 4 v 17).

This is what we really need.

‘All I need to do is worship.

All I need to do is say His name out loud.

All I need to do is lift my hands, surrender and bow down.

All I need to do is find Him.

All I need to do is let His presence fall.

All I need to do is worship.

Worship the Lord.’ – Rita Springer

Do you know what you need?

3 thoughts on “What I Really Need

  1. I love this. So true. I have not been good about worship focus lately. But it is the beginning of breakthrough for me every time, which I’m sure is why it’s such a battle.

  2. Pingback: I Don’t Feel So Good | The Bitter Worshipper

Leave a Reply

