There’s Something About Praying

3d56c71aff850858739e0a61eedb507a

‘By day the Lord directs His love, at night His song is with me- a prayer to the God of my life.’– Psalm 42 v 8

Introducing… ‘Monday Prayers’. Every Monday I will be posting a prayer on this blog, hoping readers will join me in agreement and pray along with me.

The prayers will vary; prayers for ourselves, for specific people groups, situations and current issues. The prayers will be formed around the scriptures- the word of God. I believe there is no better dialogue or language in which to express the heart of God than His word.

After all, to pray as God wills is to express His heart for ourselves, others and situations.

I’m excited about this venture. People may be thinking, why write a prayer on a blog? My answer would be…why not?

Prayer is as straightforward as it is mysterious. Thousands of books have been written about it, millions of sermons preached exhorting it and countless exhilarating/ frustrating hours have been spent worldwide engaging in it.

My experience of prayer fluctuates from flowing in inspiration and dedication, to hard graft spurred on by discipline. I know prayer works- I have lived it, I have seen answers to it, I have been delivered by it.

It was answers to prayers whispered in the dark as a child which drew me to Jesus.  So, why don’t I engage in it more?

Engaging in regular, authentic and heartfelt prayer is a spiritual battlefield because it works. Many of us don’t act like it works; we fail to realise we are on the frontline.

The act of prayer has the ability to stir a variety of emotions in us, it is the thing we often gravitate towards in times of despair, and pull away from distracted when times are good.

Prayer can feel like the loneliest activity to engage in, particularly when we pray alone over desperate situations or for brutally broken people. Despite this, it would not surprise me to find out when I get to heaven that all those times I laboured in prayer over something,  seemingly ‘on my own’, there were others around the world, even in the same city, praying with me as God himself laid my prayers on their hearts too. What a beautiful thought, to think that unified prayer is happening all the time without our awareness of it.

Our Father longs to answer our prayers;

‘Very truly I tell you, all who have faith in Me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in My name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask Me for anything in My name, and I will do it.’– John ch.14

This sounds like a sure invitation to enter into a lifestyle of prayer.

Religious myth depicts prayer as boring, dry and repetitive. But prayer requires us to use our imagination, to be creative in how we go about it and to use our intellect and minds to inform it. There are a myriad of different ways to pray. Prayer is strategic, full of purpose. It is not limited to time and place.

Some of the most profound prayers are timeless. They could be prayed on any day, in any decade, and in any century… and they would still resonate powerfully. We need to speak prayers that last and pray with an eternal perspective.

I sincerely hope we will pray together over the coming Mondays, and I thank you for joining with me in advance.

“You pray in your distress and in your need; would that you might pray also in the fullness of your joy and in your days of abundance.”
― Kahlil Gibran

5 thoughts on “There’s Something About Praying

  1. After church today, I spent a long time listening to a mother gush about her son. Every step of the way, it has been a challenging experience, but each time she prayed, something powerful happened. She’s gone through a lot to see her son where he is today… and in everything, she prayed and the results followed. 🙂

    ps: Super love the quote by Kahlil. Gonna quote it on my fb. 😉

  2. Pingback: Sometimes We Pray For Silver | Encouragement 4 Life

Leave a Reply

