Embracing Change

season 1

‘Everybody’s changing and I don’t feel the same…’- Keane

Change is refreshing, exhilarating, exciting and inspiring. It is also discomforting, alarming, intimidating and challenging.

I have always thought of myself as a person who embraces change. I love the freshness of change, how it leads me to new people and adventures I have never encountered before. Personal resources that have lain undiscovered rise up to the surface. Risk to me is a necessary part of life, and I have taken many risks, choosing the seemingly illogical choice in favour of following my heart.

Change is like the seasons- we all have our favourite. Mine is the autumn, but I suspect the season I’m in is more like summer. The summer season is not my favourite; I enjoy the warmth in the shade, but usually feel overwhelmed and uncomfortable with the intensity of city heat waves.

So with this season of my life, I have experienced waves of intensity which have left me overwhelmed and uncomfortable. The pace is fast, the responsibility is heavy and the pressure is on. I am way, way out of any comfort zone, far from familiarity.

But Jesus does not call us to comfort. He calls us to purpose.

His will and purpose for our lives is good, pleasing and perfect…but not comfortable.

We take comfort in the fact that God knows the end from the beginning, so we don’t have to. He knows what our needs are before we ask Him.

His understanding is infinite. We can approach Him in every season and cry out for grace.

‘They are like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither- whatever they do prospers’- Psalm 1 v 3

As sons and daughters of the King, whatever season of change we find ourselves in, God wants us to prosper. God’s desire is that we produce something good in every season and refuse to wither in the process.

We must be connected to the streams of water. Connected to Jesus, the Word of God made flesh.

My season of change is filled with personal challenges but also opportunity. The opportunities are obvious and enticing. Opportunity to reach a whole new range of people; working closely with them, supporting them in their distress and brokenness. Opportunity to be a light in pervasive areas of darkness. Opportunity to trust God in ever increasing ways and pray like I’ve never prayed before.

We can decide to embrace change; counting and accepting the cost.

Everything God does in our lives is for a reason. The places God directs our lives to is for a reason. And every time God speaks to us there is a reason.

In our seasons of change we can set our hearts to glorify Him.  He is always the reason for the season. I am grateful that He does not change;

‘Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.’- James 1v 17

Do you see change as a gift? 

4 thoughts on “Embracing Change

  1. I LOVE change… in small things, like moving furniture around! But when it comes to life-altering events, it terrifies me. You’re right, the only constant in life is God! We don’t have to fear change, because it doesn’t alter the fact that whatever happens, our salvation is assured, and all things work together for good.

Leave a Reply

