Breathe In

chairs

‘I breathe You in God, for You are there all around me’- Katie Torwalt

The presence of God is our greatest asset as believers. It is unequivocally precious. It cannot be purchased, stolen or destroyed. His presence is our unique selling point, the seal upon our lives, the divine indicator of difference.

Moses knew the intrinsic value of God’s presence, declaring he would not go to a place without it (Exodus 33). Now, we know that God is everywhere in His omnipresence, but I believe there are depths (layers even) within His presence.

There is favour in His presence. There is provision in His presence. There is healing in His presence.

Without the presence of the living God manifest in our lives, we are just ordinary. Nothing else sets us apart from the world;

‘What else will distinguish me and Your people from all the other people on the face of the Earth?’- Exodus 33 v 16

It is easy to lose awareness of His presence, much like being surrounded by others but lost in our own thoughts. We need to learn to stop, stand still and take a moment to allow awareness to seep back into our souls.

During devotional time we can let go of the need to read ferociously from the scriptures, pray without ceasing and sing songs of worship at the top of our voices.  These things are wonderful and helpful, but can still serve as distractions from His presence.

Before action, let’s take time just to breathe in, relax and think on Jesus. We are allowed to enjoy Him, its fuel for the journey;

‘You make known to me the path of life; You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at Your right hand’

I see a connection here. A connection between enjoying the presence of God and knowing His will for our lives- The path of life. Joy and the presence of God are not mutually exclusive; they are in perfect union with each other. One brings the other. If we shy away from experiencing the fullness of His presence then something is amiss. If we are in Christ Jesus there is now no condemnation. Amen to that.

We can take advantage of the moments in our lives that foster awareness of His presence. It is different for everyone. For me, the first opportunity comes when I open my eyes in the morning. I’m most definitely not a morning person, so before I contemplate leaving the warmth and comfort of my bed I like to lay there for a few minutes more. I hazily speak out into the cold morning air “Good morning Jesus, thank you for a brand new day. Thank you for waking me up this morning. I love you.” That’s it.

Then I get quiet and allow awareness of His presence to sink in. It’s simple, but it works.

Throughout the day many more moments will present themselves to me, and it’s up to me to seize them or let them pass me by.

The presence of God marks us; it is noticeable by the people around us. I want people to look at me as they did with Peter and John and take mental note that I have been with Jesus.

‘When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realised that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus’- Acts 4 v 13

Are you aware of His presence in your life? 

4 thoughts on “Breathe In

  1. Well said! God’s presence is something I am ashamed to say I softer neglect to remember. I really enjoyed your post and pray you have a fabulous day today.

    Warmly,
    – Dusty.

Leave a Reply

