How the Cross in My Car Helped Spread the Gospel

k0352565

One of the most powerful tools for reaching people with the gospel has been the cross in my car.

The elegant silver cross chain took pride of place in the front of my first car (a Nissan Micra- aptly named Maisie). It hung there off the rear view mirror, glistening in the sunlight, slowly swaying from side to side as I drove. It was the first thing I thought about hanging in my car, as a mark of thanks to God for providing it, but primarily as a sign of my trust in God’s protection on the roads.

I never thought much about the evangelistic potential of that cross until I began to notice something. People saw it; I mean they really saw it. Whilst sitting in my car people of all ages, unbelievers especially, would sit and stare thoughtfully at that cross.

They would reach out and touch it, run their fingers over the engravings on the cross and remain silent for a while before asking questions. They would ask me where I got it from, what the meaning was and what it stood for. Sometimes they would ask me if I believed in God, if I went to church and if I was a Christian. Many were ignorant of the implications of the cross and how central it was to the Christian faith.

Mostly they just expressed how much they liked it. Many young people shared their desire to have one of their own.

It always surprised me when they pointed the cross out. It had become a part of the car’s interior to me, not something I was consciously aware of. I was amazed at the doorways to people’s hearts that flew open as a result of that cross. Conversations occurred that never would have apart from their curiosity of that cross.

God clearly revealed to me through this experience how resolute His love is for people. He is determined to reach them, desperate even, desperate enough to use a delicate silver cross hanging in my car to get them thinking about Him.

Like the father in the story of the prodigal son, this was one of the millions of ways our Lord runs to greet his lost children. Nothing is too small in His grand plan.

At times it can seem such a mammoth task when contemplating all the people in need of Jesus. We can feel overwhelmed and under-qualified to accomplish the task.

Well, by ourselves we are. Thank God we are not alone.

I have a feeling He wants to reach people more than we do.

I have a feeling He plans to use every part of our lives to draw people to Himself.

I know this because He tells me in His word;

‘The Lord is not slow in keeping His promise, as some understand slowness. Instead He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance’- 2 Peter 3 v 9

It is true that the spiritual harvest is ripe but the workers are few. We can pray for more workers, but we can also rest in the knowledge that His resources are unlimited. He can use anything to reach others; we just need to remain ready.

 

Leave a Reply

