The Song in Your Spirit

Music-Programming

Are there days when you wake up with a certain song on your mind?

I do. Usually, I hum it for a while before realising the song is actually encouraging me and decide to play it loud on my stereo. Sometimes the song is one I’ve listened to recently, but other times its one I’ve not heard for years.

I believe God always has something to say, but we sometimes need help in hearing Him when He does.

So, instead of just playing the song on my stereo, I felt inspired to go the extra mile.  I made time to read and meditate on the exact lyrics to the song. To see what treasures and revelation they might contain. What I discovered was deep:

Lyrics

“He is Faithful”
Bryan and Katie Torwalt

Verse 1
I have heard a sound, coming on the wind
changing hearts and minds, healing brokenness
I feel a generation, breaking through despair
I hear a generation, full of faith declare

Pre-Chorus
And our song it will be, out of the darkness we will rise and sing

Chorus
He is faithful, He is glorious, He is Jesus, and all my hope is in Him
He is freedom, He is healing right now, He is hope and joy, love and peace and life

Verse 2
I have seen a light, like the break of dawn
Giving blind men sight, and letting lame men walk
I see a generation, with resurrection life
We are a generation, filled with the power of Christ

Bridge
He has paid the highest price, He has proven his great love for us
We will praise Him with our lives, and proclaim our love for Him.

 

The lyrics were full of hope, divine revelation, faith and prophetic declaration. I felt deeply encouraged and motivated to continue engaging with God in faith through prayer. To believe and expect God to move in the lives of people, people who are desperate for change in their lives.

I was grateful that God was gracious enough to lead me to stop and investigate further. To hear what He was saying to me through the song in my spirit.

God is the Creator, so it is part of His intrinsic nature to speak in creative ways. Let’s set Him free from the box of our finite human minds and allow Him to speak into our lives. It is imperative that we hear what He has to say, in whatever creative form it takes.

Of course, discernment and wisdom is needed here. We must remember the insight of Philippians 4 v 8- are the song lyrics true? Are they noble? Pure? Right? Excellent? Praiseworthy? If so, then the word tells us to think about such things.

If we are filled with the Spirit of God then we can have faith that we will hear and follow His voice (John 10 v 3-5).

As the wonderful words of Revelation 2 v 7 exhort…May we always have ears, hearts and minds open to hear what God is saying.

‘After silence, that which comes closest to expressing the inexpressible is music’. –Aldous Huxley.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Song in Your Spirit

  1. This is so true. There are times when it’s almost as though the song is carried over into reality from a dream. The song is right there on your lips when you wake up from sleep. God in His wisdom has unique ways of soothing our souls and ministering to our hearts. There’s been times when the said song had just the right lyrics to calm a troubled heart, therapeutic I mean. Thank God.

Leave a Reply

